The legalization of marijuana has caused an increase in the number of cultivators all around California. Every day, more people want to grow marijuana in the state, as they see a rise in the use of medicinal and recreational use. It can be a valuable thing to do, but you would need a grant for it. To obtain a medical marijuana grow license, you must first understand the law.
The laws regarding cultivation
Following are the fundamental laws that are involved in the permission of marijuana growth:
- The Medical Marijuana Program Act (MMP)
- The Federal Controlled Substances Act (CSA)
- The Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA)
- The Medical Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MCRSA)
- The Medical and Adult Use of Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA)
- The Compassionate Use Act (CUA)
- The Cole Memo and Farr Rohrabacher Amendment (CMFRA)
To keep it interesting and short, we can put the conclusion and requirements of all the laws of growing medical cannabis in a single paragraph. California laws allow possessing up to 8 ounces of dried weed and grow 6 mature cannabis plants, if not allowed more by a doctor or regional ordinance. Also, the MMP authenticated the right to the group and collaborative cultivation of medicinal marijuana. Anyone in the market of cannabis fields is expected to follow a simple set of rules such as a limited amount of cultivation and selling their products to authorized vendors.
Authorized license issuers
Bureau of Cannabis Control, CDFA’s CalCannabis Cultivation Licensing, and CDPH’s Manufactured Cannabis Safety Branch authorize the license to grow and sell marijuana. There are three other authorities, but the BCC has been there the longest.
The Bureau states that to get a license one must get permission from the home state. The person is then required to get permission from the landowner of the land. If the landowner does not allow or even show that he is not interested, then the license can be provoked.
After a written statement from the landowner, the applicant must go back to the Bureau. The Bureau then sets the boundary for farming marijuana.
Growers are also asked to pass certain quality tests before they deliver the harvest.
There is another way around. The applicant can apply for a temporary license with California’s three licensing authorities. A temporary license is a limited grant that permits a cultivator to involve themselves in economic cannabis activity for 120 days and possibly given 90-days extensions if the licensee has asked for a yearly license with the particular licensing authority. People holding a provisional permit are subject to the same practices and laws as of those carrying annual grants.
For further information, you can ask the County Agricultural Commissioner’s office, if they have a permit process. Unluckily, getting a grant to grow marijuana is more complex than getting a corn field license. Many farmers may feel confused by this, and certainly will not feel comfortable, however this is the start of cannabis business and the start is always a bit difficult.